current albums on rotation – 23/06/10

June 22, 2010

So it looks like my blog is getting a few views these days so I have decided to drop my stupid ‘no uppercase’ gimmick (except for headings), thanks for bearing with me.

1. lcd soundsystem – this is happening

Lcd Soundsystem are amazing and I’ve said it before that James Murphy can do no wrong. Listening to This Is Happening has changed my first impressions somewhat, the album is getting better with each and every listen. I recently realized the album has a lot more depth and feel if listened to through a pair of good noise canceling headphones, you just seem to pick up so much more little additions to each song. Tracks to check out: ‘Home’, ‘Dance Yrself Clean’ and ‘You Wanted a Hit’.

2. foals – total life forever

I was never the biggest fan of Foals album Antidotes, and so I didn’t think Total Life Forever would be any better. To my surprise I was wrong. This sophomore album is a lot less funky and I feel that they have definitely found their “sound”. Songs like ‘This Orient’ and ‘Miami’ and stand out tracks and are songs to check out if you want a preview of how good Total Life Forever is. A good 2010 album!

3. delphic – acolyte

I only discovered this band a couple of days ago and so far have liked what I’ve heard. the band reminds me of a mix between Miike Snow and Klaxons, very electro poppy. I feel I will have to give the album a few more listens before I discover any real stand out / lovable tracks. The band formed in 2009 and released their first single ‘This Momentary’ in 2009 which went on to be nominated for 3 UK Music Video Awards and the band was also nominated for the “BBC’s Sound of 2010 list” in which they came third.

4. motocade – into the fall

To be honest Im not the biggest listener to New Zealand music, which is quite disappointing because there is a lot of talent coming out of this little country. A friend recommended this ep, Into The Fall, by Motocade to me a couple of weeks ago. Motocade is a four piece indie rock band from Auckland, New Zealand. As I said before I don’t usually give New Zealand music a chance but this ep is going down a treat. I hear influences from bands such as early Bloc Party, The Checks and early Kings of Leon. I have yet to hear the full length album which got released earlier this year and will hopefully have a copy of this in the near future.

honorable mention
1. micachu – jewellery

This album has blown me away! I cannot get enough of it. Micachu has been playing constantly through my iTunes over the last few months. Micachu is the stage name of London based songwriter / producer and composer, Mica Levi. She studies composition at the Guildhall School Of Music & Drama in London . As well as writing more traditional pieces, she writes electronic pop songs, sometimes delivered acoustically. Definitely a band to check out, I highly recommend their full length album Jewellery.

2. the checks – alice by the moon

This album was featured on my “current albums on rotation – 01/10/09” list and has not left. I have been listening to this album solidly for the last 8 months and have not yet got sick of a track. In my opinion it’s by far the best rock album to come out of New Zealand in the last 5 years. The album is a very well presented from their track list order to the album cover. A lot of hard work has gone into the production of this album and it shows. If any readers of this blog have not yet heard Alice By The Moon, I strongly recommend it. The album can be purchased from www.thechecks.net or for a preview visit their Myspace page here

…rowan

Leave a Reply

